EFTA free trade agreement with Georgia enters into force on 1 May 2018

The free trade agreement between the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) and Georgia will enter into force for Switzerland on 1 May. To that end the Federal Council on 28 March adopted the necessary amendments to the ordinance implementing the customs duty concessions set out in the agreement. The Federal Assembly approved the agreement negotiated through EFTA in September 2017. The agreement will help boost trade relations between the contracting parties.

 The free trade agreement (FTA) between Georgia and the EFTA states (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland) covers a wide range of sectors. It includes trade in goods (industrial and agricultural products), rules of origin, customs procedures and trade facilitation. The free trade agreement was signed on 27 June 2016 and largely corresponds to more recent free trade agreements concluded with third countries by the EFTA states.